Frequently Asked Questions - Licensure

1. How do I know if someone is licensed as a dietitian in Illinois?

Anyone can verify that a person is licensed by clicking the "Licensee Lookup" link available on the State of Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations by clicking HERE

2. Must I be a Registered Dietitian in order to be eligible for a license to practice dietetics in Illinois?

Yes. All licensed dietitians must have a current registration issued by the Commission on Dietetic Registration before a license is issued. Web site: www.cdrnet.org

3. Do I have to maintain my RD status with the Commission to keep my Illinois license?

Yes.

4. When do I renew my license?

License renewals are due October 31st of odd numbered years. The pocket card issued when you first obtained a license and thereafter upon renewing, displays the license expiration date.

5. What is the fee to renew my license?

License renewal free is $100.

6. How do I renew my license?

Online renewal is available by going to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation website by clicking HERE. Renewal notices are sent via email at least 3 months prior to the due date to all licensees with instructions on how to renew online.

7. Are there continuing education requirements for license renewal?

Yes. By maintaining a current registration with the Commission on Dietetic Registration the CE requirements for license renewal are met. A compliance audit is conducted that randomly selects licensees that will be notified to submit to the Panel office proof of a current registration.

8. Where can I complete the IDFPR sexual harassment prevention training?

A new law passed in 2019 requiring all individuals with licenses issued by DPR that require CE to renew their license to also complete 1 hour of CE on the topic of sexual harassment prevention training. This requirement is in effect for all renewals after January 1, 2020. The Illinois Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics has partnered with Clear Law Institute to offer this 1-hour CE for members and non-members. IAND members will receive a discounted rate. Click here for more information.